Chinese Cuisine

     China’s immense size has allowed it to foster many different types of Chinese cuisine (around 5, 000).  Besides taste, Chinese cuisine places great importance on color and smell as well.  The cutting of the ingredients is also very specific in Chinese cooking.  In fact, there are many cutting styles in Chinese cooking, each with a specific name of classification.  Some examples of these names are “pian”, which refers to a flat slice, and “ding”, which refers to small cube cut. 

     The four main cuisines of China are Guangdong(Cantonese) cuisine, Shandong cuisine, Huaiyang cuisine, and Sichuan cuisine. Guangdong cuisine is also called Yue Cai.  This cuisine is known for its wide variety of ingredients and its dim sum. Shandong cuisine is also called Lu Cai.  This cuisine is known for its seafood.  Huaiyang cuisine is also known as Huaiyang Cai.  It focuses on the ingredients themselves and the quality of them.  Finally, Sichuan cuisine, or Chuan Cai, is known for its strong, spicy flavor and use of the Sichuan pepper. 

     Chinese food in general is very healthy, because it is never served with just meat, or just rice.  Instead, Chinese food, when served, always includes small amounts of rice and meat, and large amounts of vegetables, topped off with lots of spices.  This creates a balanced diet that is both nutritious and delicious.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s